Aftershave and shaving oil journey

Ending off a fine shave.

Aftershave and shaving oil journey

Postby BLES » Tue Jul 07, 2015 8:17 am

The next few weeks I will be experimenting in making my own pre- and post-shave oils and aftershaves. I love the smell of bay rum and the properties of witch hazel and alcohol so why not? :think: As I’ll be making it to suit my needs and not for retail purposes I will share my recipes with you guys. Please feel free to share and shed some light on this topic. Please take note that I’m a total newbie in doing this there for any advice would be highly appreciated.

My base ingredients for the oils are olive oil and castor oil. As I progress I will experiment with grape seed, sweet almond and Jojoba oils.
Base ingredients for the aftershave are witch hazel which is an astringent. It helps to close the pores after a hot shave and it also has a 16% alcohol which disinfects any cuts. Glycerine which is a by-product of soap making. It is a natural moisturizer and skin propellant to sooth skin after shaving. Alum which is a coagulant used to help stop the bleeding of any cuts and then lastly alcohol for its disinfecting properties.
For the scent I will experiment with different essential oils, dried herbs and spices.

I started on an aftershave last night consisting of some left over Jack Tar Rum and orange peels. I added some witch hazel, bay leaves, cloves, cinnamon stick, fresh ginger, fresh rosemary and vanilla extract. I keep a journal on the amount of everything I added and will place the final recipe here once it’s ready. I think storing it for at least a week giving it a shake every day will do. The ingredients “moet nou eers bietjie trou”. :D
“I believe that pipe smoking contributes to a somewhat calm and objective judgment in all human affairs.” – Albert Einstein
BLES

Re: Aftershave and shaving oil journey

Postby RiverValleyTrading » Tue Jul 07, 2015 8:23 am