Making own brush handle

Tell us all about the brush that creates the magic.

Making own brush handle

Postby jegreen » Sat May 13, 2017 1:10 pm

I saw a pic online of the Semogue 2013 SE and thought that it looked terrific in the olive wood. Then I found an advert in a local paper about someone selling olive wood logs and I bought 2 pieces to try make my own brush! I'm hoping to get to it in July, as the next 2 months I don't have much time available to dedicate to this. I have zero experience turning wood but have access to a lathe so think it will be quite fun to go play around on it. I'm measuring up different brush handles and have a folder full pictures of handles that I like, so getting a feel for measurements.

I've ordered 2 knots from Whipped Dog (silvertip and synthetic) and the plan is to turn out a few handles and hope that 2 of them are usable!

The 1st pic is me busy squaring off one of the olive logs to maybe make a box if I can get some solid planks out. The 2nd pic is an olive log that I've cut up into 45x45x100mm blanks for turning. The wood seems dry enough but now I'm going to leave it for a few weeks to dry further. This could end up a mess or I'm hoping to make something quite nice here.

So not much to show yet, but it looks feasible.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
jegreen

Re: Making own brush handle

Postby Thug » Sat May 13, 2017 1:36 pm

Very nice jegreen.

Look forward to further posts.
Support Movember by clicking on this link: https://mobro.co/tonyhuglin?mc=1
Thug

Postby Jacquers » Sat May 13, 2017 6:18 pm

Cool project :thumbup:
↑↑↓↓←→←→BA
Jacquers

Postby deepsouth » Sat May 13, 2017 6:25 pm

I'd suggest you cut them a bit thinner for scales though...
:D
A man well lathered is half shaved
deepsouth

Postby jegreen » Sat May 13, 2017 8:45 pm

But I like a really solid grip :mrgreen:
jegreen

Postby Gaza365 » Sat May 13, 2017 11:10 pm

I look forward to seeing the finished product